We are delighted to announce the list of nominees for the 2014 Army Sports Awards which is being held on Thursday Nov 27th in the magnificent Great Hall at the Guildhall in London.

An evening of ceremony and splendour to celebrate a year of sporting achievement in the Armed Forces, this glittering occasion is hosted by General Sir Nicholas Carter, the Chief of General Staff and organised in collaboration with Team Army and the Army Sports Control Board.

Sports presenter Gabby Logan will add an extra sparkle to the event as compere and the renowned soprano, Laura Wright, will be opening the evening in style by performing Invincible, her track from the Invictus Games.

Joining CGS, senior military officers in the British Army, sponsors & supporters and award nominees will be some of the UK’s biggest sporting heroes, including Victoria Pendleton, Greg Rutherford, Colin Jackson, and James Cracknell, as well as some of the Army’s own former stars, Tim Rodber and Matt Fleming.

There will be 8 awards presented on the night:

Official of the year
WO2 Andy Halliday – Football
WO2 Steve Maden – Powerlifting
WO2 Mark Scorgie – Alpine

Unsung hero of the year
Capt Paul Greenwood – Cricket
WO2 Rob Jones – Cycling
Capt Peter Simmonds – Cycling

Rising star of the year
Fus Marlon Simon – Cricket
Pte Kimberley Preston – Triathlon
Spr Alex Royle – Cycling

Team of the year
To be announced

Adaptive Athlete of the year
Sgt (Vet) Mick Brennan – Para-Alpine
Cfn Nikki Paterson – Paracanoeing
Pte (Vet) Charlie Walker – Sitting Volleyball

Sportswoman of the year
Cpl Nordia Masters – Netball
Capt Chantelle Miller – Rugby Union
LCpl Alanna Murphy

Sportsman of the year
LSgt Lamin Deen – Bobsleigh
LCpl Semesca Rokodugini – Rugby Union
LCpl Ashley Williams – Boxing

Lifetime achievement
Staff Sergeant Sean Fanning

The ceremony is being filmed by Sky TV and broadcast on Forces TV on the evening of Friday 28th November.

For further information please email Usha Chadha.